Review: The Universe Versus Alex Woods

The Universe Versus Alex Woods
The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I picked this up by accident. I don’t read YA and I thought the main character would be adult any moment. When I realized it was YA I thought well, no wonder it felt dumbed-down when it came to the kid explaining all the things he learns. I set it aside and looked for something else to read. But at the end of the day I kept reading because it was simple and relaxing.

I was pretty intrigued when the story took the turn that it did. Didn’t seem like a YA topic and I love that a YA book isn’t conforming … (spoilers)

I’m disabled myself and I’m not as bad as the man in the story and there’s no reason to expect to be but I’ve had scary enough experiences to have worried about this scenario enough that I have basically begged my best friend to make sure I have a dignified death. He was not happy with that idea and that’s ok. But because he doesn’t want to be part of that I feel kind of up in the air and insecure about how I might end. That explained, this book, despite being fiction, gave me hope and I want to thank Gavin Extence for writing this story.

View all my reviews

Published by

In A Good Bookroom

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.” ― Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

