Review: Oryx and Crake

Oryx and Crake
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Unexpectedly transgressive. Not something I necessarily like or dislike in a story but it was certainly very fitting in Atwood’s very dystopic world.

This book was good but didn’t resonate with me in any profound way. I was distracted by some dated elements like the CD ROMs and by a few tropes that I wish hadn’t been there. (The evil/mad scientist thing annoys me.)

The world is so detailed and yet leaves you wondering about so much that I want to pick up the next book in the trilogy. But will it also leave me hanging. I’m betting on the answer to that being yes.

View all my reviews

Published by

In A Good Bookroom

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.” ― Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

