Review: Girl in the Dark: A Memoir

Girl in the Dark: A Memoir
Girl in the Dark: A Memoir by Anna Lyndsey
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I share an automatic kinship with the author of this book because I’m also a person who is so ill (and invisibly so) that I’m confined to my house, leaving my bedroom usually once a day. I deal with chronic pain, grief, boredom, epic frustration … on and on. At every turn while reading this book my heart wrenched because I had experienced the same things. Her condition and mine are very different and very much alike at the same time. I even retreat to books and puzzles for comfort. I can only read on an ereader or with audiobooks. My social life has all but disappeared. I envy Anna her “phone friends” although I do have one internet friend. I don’t know what I’d do without the internet for company.

I could go on for quite a long while comparing her experiences with mine but what I really want to drive home with this review is that this woman’s account of her experiences are extremely, painfully accurate. These are the experiences of not just people with diseases so strange that they baffle the mind. They are the experiences of hundreds of thousands of disabled people around the world.

So if you read this book, pay attention to the details and don’t shelter your mind from her realities. One day you will meet someone with a disability and because you put yourself in this woman’s shoes for as long as it takes to read a short book, you will make that person’s world a little better by offering a more complete understanding.

View all my reviews

Published by

In A Good Bookroom

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.” ― Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

