Review: The Girl with All the Gifts

The Girl with All the Gifts
The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read this one about three months back and it still sticks with me as one of the best scifi of 2014. It’s a little difficult to explain what makes it different but I suppose it’s an accumulation of things like the fact that it centers on scientists, not military or survivalists (boy is that getting old). One “evil scientist” type and one scientist of the kinder sort. Both female. I like that this is a novel that pulled off being female-centric without my noticing until well, now. I also loved the point of view of a child who accepts her world as is, having never knowing anything different; not the cowering, sad child of other zombie stories, ineffectually sheltered by family. Finally, the small but pretty nice twist on the origins of the zombie plague. It’s a fungus, not a virus, the supernatural, or just unexplained. To go further would be to add spoilers so I won’t do it.

This might be the last zombie book I read because frankly, aren’t we all getting tired of this craze by now? It was a very nice one to end on.

View all my reviews

Published by

In A Good Bookroom

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.” ― Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

