Review: The Luminaries

The Luminaries
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Can I just quit? Is it the cardinal sin of reading? Especially when the book won a Booker Prize? After the scene where Sook gets hate crimed nearly to death and the author made it so … well it was a limp scene and it shouldn’t have been. It was as if I was meant to watch this brutal beating from an uninterested distance. I lost my investment in this book. I see the author’s skills but I can’t appreciate them when they are used so ineffectually.

I actually googled the ending and was sent right back to goodreads where people discussed the fact that some of the facts of crucial events are left unexplained. The reader is meant to figure it out somehow. I find this sort of thing to be very pretentious on a writer’s part.

And so, after being torn back and forth in my opinions of this books merits I am quitting it early and leaving it unrated. Unrated because I can’t ignore the good things about it but neither can I overlook the bad.

View all my reviews

Published by

In A Good Bookroom

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.” ― Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

